Review Thursday: Do Hard Things as reviewed by Bjorn Abraham Tabanera

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Review Thursday
Tags: , , , , , ,

*this is an excerpt of a book review of Do Hard Things that was published in the Philippine Star last March 6. To read the full review, click here.

I’d like to believe that my bedroom is vivaciously alive, and that all my things disarrange themselves just to exasperate my mother. However, every time I consider introducing this theory to her, I shrink, knowing she just won’t believe me.

I recall a time when my mother cited a long list of things she found maddeningly unfavorable in my room: she first noted that in my bedroom shower, my sink needed scrubbing and empty sachets of shampoo needed to meet the trash can. Then she commented on the thickness of the dust that lay indecently on the floor, and said that it wouldn’t hurt if I made use of a broom.

I have forgotten her exact cleaning pointers, but one thing I will never forget was the puzzlement she expressed over my cluttered desk. On my desk resided used bottles of deodorant, a variety of papers and handouts, empty packs of candy, and an assortment of other nameless junk. Nevertheless, my desk was home to my favorite book: Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations.

Of all the books that I’ve ever read, Do Hard Things is indubitably closest to my heart, aptly because of its direct relevance to my lifestyle and age.

The book upholds a hunger that seeks to alter the despicably low standards society has set for teens. Simply put, the book is about challenging teenagers to ditch all notions of laziness and irresponsibility, and rise above what others expect of us. It teaches us to “pursue excellence, not excuses.” In the midst of my enthrallment on such a great message, I find myself being rebuked for living such a disorganized lifestyle.

I have been probably everything the book encourages the youth not to become. Still, I am blessed by the authors’ unwavering proclamation that radical change for my generation really is possible.   What makes this book extraordinarily special is that the authors — who also happen to be twin brothers — wrote it when they were teenagers like me. Alex and Brett Harris released their book when they were just 19 years old, but their “rebellion against low expectations” started much earlier.

Before Alex and Brett became the modern-day world changers they are today, they humbly started out as mere bloggers. They named their blog “The Rebelution” from “rebellion” and “revolution.” The reason for the blog name is simple: “It is about rebelling against rebellion.”

Their fervid stance on the potential use of teen years surprisingly drew a large like-minded audience. Their initial step of action proved to be a step in the right direction.

From then on, God has opened doors for them to reach out in larger ways to a wider spectrum of people. At a very young age, they have been traveling the world, conducting conferences for parents and teenagers. They have been passionately testifying to God’s might moving through adolescents who “dare to be responsible now.” The best part of the book is that it doesn’t just compel us to “re-think what the teen years are all about,” it makes us view life in light of eternity. I am reminded that life is primarily about seeking God and making much of Him. We are to explore all the possible realms and we are able to unleash our gifts and skills, solely for God’s glory.

To read the rest of the article, click here

===============================================================================================

Price: P 225.00  (US$ 5.00)
ISBN: 978-971-0495-99-3


Description
From the brothers of best-selling author Joshua Harris (I Kissed Dating Goodbye), here is a revolutionary message that’s got teens everywhere talking–and doing.

Twins Alex and Brett Harris, 18 years old when they wrote Do Hard Things, challenge teens to rebel against society’s low expectations. For them, adolescence isn’t a vacation from responsibility–it’s the launching pad for life.

Packed with humorous personal anecdotes, practical examples, and stories of real-life “rebelutionaries,” this radical book is a rallying cry to redefine the teen years and lay claim to a brighter future, starting today.

Do Hard Things is available at all OMF Lit Bookshops, National Bookstore, Powerbooks and PCBS bookshops nationwide.

Leave a Reply

