Book Monday: God Allows U-Turns for Women

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Book Monday
Tags: , ,

Sometimes it’s too easy to find the wrong path. Before you know it, you’re headed down a road that shouldn’t be traveled. The good news is, there’s a U-turn up ahead—and many women before you have taken it.

This powerful collection of stories from real women encourages you in the face of difficult relationships, financial battles, serious illness or the death of a loved one.

God is waiting to help turn your life around. Are you ready for a U-turn?

Here are just some nuggets of faith and wisdom that you can glean from this book

Chapter Two – Choosing to Triumph

I can do everything through Him who gives me strength – Philippians 4:3

Rarely do we get the fairy tale. Life has so many curves, it’s all we can do just to hang on…But praise be to God, all of this and more are but a blip on His radar. He can handle it. For when we are weakest, He is the strongest. When we stand still on His promises, we can watch His power, grace and mercy at work. We are more than conquerors in Him who created the universe and all that is in it. So stand on His promises, put on that armor, my sister, and shout out with me, “Go God!”

Excerpt from Unexpected Blessings by Phyllis Farringer

“It took me a while to get it, but finally I began to see what was happening. All of the things I saw as potholes on my journey were actually signposts pointing me to the deeper relationship I longed for with the Lord. The broken places in my life were revealing God to me in new and deeper ways. He was making me more sensitive to the heartache around me.

He was providing me with the compassion to help others with broken lives. Because of the comfort and peace I experienced, I could offer them support and direction in their time of need. I learned of God’s provision, sustenance and healing power, whether the need is physical or emotional or spiritual. I learned to let go of my own pride. I learned He is all I need.”

Chapter 5 – Choosing To Take A Stand

Then Esther sent this reply to Mordecai: “Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my maids will fast as you do. When this time is done, I will go to the king, even though it is agaisnt the law. And if I perish, I perish. – Esther 4:15-16

Many times in our lives we may be called upon to take a stand without knowing what the outcome might be. But anything done by God’s guidance is in His hands and is safe for eternity. If we trust in knowing what is right and true, and we follow His Word, God will pit our true treasure where moth and rust cannot destroy. Our faithfulness will not go unrewarded.

Excerpt from Why Now, Lord? by Kriss Erickson

(the writer suffered physical and emotional abuse at the hands of her Christian parents and she tells of how she was able to overcome the pain of these memories)

“My choice to cover the dark memories now seemed foolish. Without my “everything’s okay” veneer, I felt utterly alone.

But I wasn’t alone. As He had so many times in my childhood, God made himself known. As the warmth of His Presence mingled with my heartbreaking flashbacks, I hoped He’d make the dark memories fade.

I should’ve known better. God has shown me since childhood that His is a presence of truth, not a presence of denial. Instead of relieving my pain, His presence helped me endure the current of blocked memories coursig through my mind most of the night. As my most gifted Teacher, He showed me the way to serve Him wasn’t by denying my abusive childhood memories, but by looking to Him through them.”

Chapter 8 – Choosing Love

This is how God showed his love among us; He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love; not that we loved God but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. – 1 John 4:9-10

God gave us a wonderful gift through His love for us. We, as children of God have the same capacity for love. Whether it is love between a husband and wife, a parent toward their child, grandparents and grandchildren, or the love of a close friend, we all have the ability to choose love. Yet that choice is not always easy. Choosing to love is the greatest gift we can give to God.

Excerpt from First You Ask Why by Pamela D. Hallal

(the writer’s son, Deryk, was a Marine killed in action in Iraq and she talks about dealing with a loss that no parent should have to go through )

“God has been and continues to be faithful. It is so much more than just the hope that we will see Deryk again. Hope is not a strong enough emotion to accomplish what it is we want. Hope, hand-in-hand with faith, gives us the confidence we need. When we walk in the will of God, we receive what His Word promises. Hebrews 11:1 says, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

Because we have faith in the assurance of things hoped for, and we know Deryk had the same faith, we can endure each day of grieving, while longing for things not seen.

First I asked why and cried. I then realized I could be thankful and praise God. He gave me two sons: His Son to pay for my spiritual freedom, and my son to free an oppressed people from an evil dictator. I will continue to cling to the Lord. He has been my hope and confidence since my youth, proclaiming His mighty deeds and His unwavering faithfulness. He is the only choice we can make to see us through.”

==============================================================================================

God Allows U-Turns for Women is available at all OMF Lit Bookshops and selected National Bookstore and PCBS branches nationwide

Leave a Reply

