Review Thursday: Zendy Talks About Ang Pera Na Hindi Bitin

Posted: June 23, 2011 in Review Thursday
Tags: ,

Thank you Zendy, for this review of Ang Pera Na Hindi Bitin by Ardy Roberto. You can check out her tumblr here

If you have reviews of any of our books, please don’t hesitate to email us (idatorres@omflit.com) and we’ll post it here on our blog (which we’ll link to your personal blog, if you have one)

=====================================================================================================

A friend asked me if I have read the book “Ang Pera na Hindi Bitin” by Eduardo O. Roberto, Jr.  I said no, so he took the liberty to buy one for me.  I never liked reading Tagalog books or articles but since it’s a gift and the title was quite catchy, I took a mental note to read the book when I got home. After all, I think I really need help in managing my finances. For over a year that I have been employed, my savings account would still go back to zero and my passbook closed. I’ve read so many articles on managing finances and have tried them but at the end of it all, I get tired and just go back to my ways of spending and keeping money.

As I climbed on my bed, I thought “What new things will this book teach me?” Good thing the book was a mix of Filipino and English since I find some Filipino words difficult to understand. Oh yes, this is my first time to read a ‘Taglish’ book. The first few pages were interesting which urged me to read further. I expected to read same advice from financial experts and yes I did but this time with a biblical point of view! Unlike, other books or articles I’ve read on finances, this one incorporated biblical truths. A PLUS, I must say! Everyone must realize that in whatever task we are to do, the bible is a primary consultant. The book offered 7 Strategies on how to have ‘ang pera na hindi bitin.’ Like other books, to ‘save’ was cited as a strategy. I was once again given the drive to save 10% of my income for a start. For many times, I tried this but I guess saving is just one subject that I have to go through from freshman to senior years! I always flunk. I hope this time; this drive will help me spare the 10% of my salary from MOA.  Another strategy was to ‘give.’ I was reminded of Malachi 3:10 (NIV)

“Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.

What a verse! The Lord said “Test me in this.” This is a challenge from the Lord. Are we up to the challenge? The third strategy was to ‘get out of debt and stop borrowing.’ Fortunately, I have no credit card. I applied once but the bank did not call, in short, denied. I prayed for the approval of the bank since I usually get airline tickets on the web and having my own credit card would lessen the burden of borrowing one’s account. Though, I don’t have a credit card, for the past months, I spent my money paying off airline tickets since I would get one every time there is a seat sale! Wrong move I guess because most of the time I get way out of my budget. I’m just so relieved now that I finally finished paying the tickets.

I will not further discuss the other strategies cited; it’s for you to find out when you decide to pursue the lifestyle which will lead you to ‘ang pera na hindi bitin.’ I finished the book in one sitting not only because it has few pages but because I was engrossed in reading till I forgot that it was bedtime. The book offered practical steps grounded on biblical principles which will surely help many in managing what God has given them. To answer my question, “What new things will this book teach me?” –it taught me “Huwag patayin ang manok na nangigitlog para sa’yo.”  What does this mean? Go and buy the book now so you can discover yourself! I am so thankful for my friend who gave me this book for it surely reminded me that I am just a manager of everything that I have; and I must be an excellent manager.  Kudos to “Ang Pera na Hindi Bitin.”

====================================================================================================

Bitin ba lagi ang pera mo? Lagi bang kulang ang sweldo o allowance mo?

If you need a guide on how to best manage your money, get this easy-to-read and
practical book for yourself and your family—even your friends who are struggling or
always borrowing money!

Ang Pera Na Hindi Bitin is available at all OMF Lit Bookshops, National Bookstore, Powerbooks and PCBS bookstores nationwide for only P50

Leave a Reply

