Book Monday: Do You Want a Rebelution? Start Here!

Posted: June 27, 2011 in Book Monday
Tags: , , , ,

It all started with two young boys who wanted to wake up their fellow teenagers.

When twin brothers Alex and Brett Harris started TheRebelution.com when they were just 16 years old, their goal was to encourage teens everywhere to join “a teenage rebellion against low expectations.” They’ve noticed that a lot of people didn’t expect a lot from the youth anymore, except trouble and mayhem and even more worrying, indifference and apathy.

This led to the book Do Hard Things 3 years later, a rallying cry for young people to redefine their teen years and become people who are ready to go outside their comfort zones, willing to go beyond what’s expected or required, and able to stand on their own.

The book sparked something in teenagers everywhere and it became a best-selling book, even here in the Philippines.

This led to a follow-up book two years later called Start Here, which answers the questions, How do I get started? What do I do when I get discouraged? What’s the best way to inspire others?

Like their first book, Start Here is filled with stories and insights, not just from the brothers, but from their fellow rebelutionaries. If Do Hard Things was a rallying cry, this second book is about the practical steps you need to take to blast past mediocrity for the glory of God.

In the Appendix of Start Here, they shared 100 real-life examples of hard things that actual teenagers have done. We’d like to share some of these things here to inspire young (and even the not so young anymore) people to do their own hard things for God. Let’s make our own list!

2. Memorized a whole book of the Bible.

3.Called my dad on his birthday after my parents got divorced.

5. Didn’t text for a week and used my extra time to read the Bible.

7. Saved my first kiss for my wedding day

9. Sold all the clothes I didn’t need and gave the money to charity.

12. Wrote a note of encouragement to the principal of my school.

15. Asked my parents to come to church with me.

23. Sponsored a child through Compassion International

33. Apologized.

36. Moved away from home to be near my ill brother.

42. Invited someone I find annoying to hang out with me and my friends.

47. Wrote to persecuted Christians through PrisonerAlert.com

53. Ran errands for my parents.

54. Wrote an encouraging letter to my youth pastor.

55. Stopped complaining.

67. Stopped gossiping.

70. Supported a family member who struggles with depression.

73. Prayed for the kid at school who mistreats me.

83. Asked my stepsister out for a soda even though we don’t get along.

90. Got up earlier than usual in the morning to read my Bible.

 

How about you? What hard thing have you done lately? If you haven’t done any yet, this is a good place to start 🙂

ALEX AND BRETT HARRIS (r-l) founded TheRebelution.com in August 2005 and today are among the most popular writers and speakers for Christian teens. The twins are authors of the best-selling book Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations andStart Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are, main speakers for The Rebelution Tourconferences, and have been featured nationally in print, radio, and television.

Sons of homeschool pioneers Gregg and Sono Harris and younger brothers of best-selling author Joshua Harris (I Kissed Dating Goodbye), Alex and Brett have a passion for God and for their generation. Their personal interests include politics, filmmaking, music, and basketball. They are students at Patrick Henry College in Purcellville, Virginia.

======================================================================================

Do Hard Things (P225) and Start Here (P175) are available at all OMF Lit Bookshops nationwide.

Leave a Reply

