(Belated) Author Wednesday: Thank You Mr. John Stott

Posted: July 28, 2011 in Author Wednesday
Tags:

This morning, John Stott, one of the leading Christian writers and evangelists of our times, has gone ahead to be with our Lord. He has left a wealth of words and ideas to draw us close to God and His life is a living testimony of God’s faithfulness. Here is a short excerpt from his book Calling Christian Leaders

In 1958, I was privileged to lead an eight-day mission in the University of Sydney, Australia. On the last night the meeting was due to be held in the imposing Great Hall of the University. But I had caught what the Australians call a ‘wog’ (bug), which had deprived me of speech. Shortly before the meeting some student leaders gathered round me and one of them read the words of Jesus to Paul: ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ ‘Therefore’, Paul continued, ‘I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me…For when I am weak, then I am strong’ (2 Cor 12:9-10). Then the students prayed that these words might be fulfilled in me that night.

The hall was packed. But I could only croak my address into the microphone in a monotone, unable to assert my personality or modulate my voice in any way. When the time came for the invitation however, there was an immediate and eager response. I have been back in Australia ten times since then and every time somebody has accosted me somewhere, asking, ‘Do you remember that meeting in the Great Hall of Sydney University when you had lost your voice? I came to Christ that night.’

That story was told by John Stott in his book Calling Christian Leaders. He has found in his travels that contemporary models of Christian leadership are often shaped more by culture than by Christ. He demonstrates how central is the theme of ‘power through weakness’ and urges Christian leaders to be characterized above all else by ‘the meekness and the gentleness of Christ’.

Thank you Mr. Stott for your life and your words. We long for the day when we will meet you once again in heaven.

Leave a Reply

