The Old-Fashioned Ebook Convert (guest post by Carla Ravanes)

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Digital Books
Tags: ,

This is a guest post from one of our blogger friends, on why she loves both physical books and ebooks (yes, it is very possible!). We hope you’ll be encouraged to try ebooks too, if you haven’t yet. For a list of all our available digital titles, click here

==================================================================================

From dipity.com

From dipity.com

I don’t know if it is possible for anyone to love books as much as I do.

I am the girl who spends countless hours in bookstores, making a list of books I wish to purchase and then head straight home to be with the books I already have.

Another oddity about me is the fact I absolutely adore the scent of new books. There’s nothing that excites me more than opening a new book and relishing in its scent, for a bookworm like me, that is one of the best things about purchasing books.

It is safe to say that books play a major part of my life and part of my love affair with my books is the experience of going inside a bookstore and holding the book with my very own hands.

This is the reason why I was a bit skeptical at first when a friend of mine gifted me with my first set of e-books. For someone who loves the physicality of the book as much as I do, it was definitely a new experience to actually read but not be able to feel it in my hands or relish in its scent.

My old-fashioned ways resisted reading off an electronic device. I tried to stay away from it as much as I could but then realized that times are changing and we are in fact living in the days of social networking and maybe it was time for me to learn to adapt to the change as well.

In my first foray into it, I found myself looking for the familiarity of holding a book within my fingers but at the same I also enjoyed the comfort of bringing just one gadget with me instead of lugging around two to three books at a time in my already crowded bag. I also found myself excited to fill my “ebook” library with books I only once dreamed of owning but found too expensive to purchase.  It also helped that with the help of technology, I can now read even at night when all the lights are turned off! This for me was a big thing simply because I love reading literally under the covers!

From Digitlab.co.za

From Digitlab.co.za

Soon enough, I found myself swapping ebooks with friends and even (gasp!) encouraging others to take the same route. Now, instead of dreaming of filling my old school ratty bookshelf at home, I found myself getting ready to fill my ebook library as well!

This is the reason why I got excited when I found out that one of my most favorite bookstores in the world, OMF Literature is now offering ebooks to their “techie” clients. The excitement of having even more titles added to my “techie” library was exciting.

Switching from the safety of my books to ebooks was a major step for me, simply because I am a creature of habit. However, I have come to realize that stepping out of one’s comfort zone does bring about lovely surprises and this maybe just a small feat but it definitely encouraged me to step out more often because who knows what joy that risk would bring about.

Leave a Reply

