Life Revised Conversation: It’s Not About Winning All the Time

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

A life revised conversation with former beauty queen and TV and movie personality, Miriam Quiambao

After being crowned as the First Runner-up in the 1999 Miss Universe pageant, Miriam Quiambao was at the top of her game, becoming a household name and an inspiration to many Filipinos. But after a string of successes came a series of events that left her shattered. In this one-on-one conversation, Miriam Quiambao reveals how brokenness molded her into the woman God wanted her to be.

Q: Describe your life before knowing Jesus Christ.

mir12Miriam: I grew up in a religious home, attended traditional schools and actively served in the church choir.  When I joined Bb. Pilipinas in 1999, I was also an active member of a charismatic group.  But when my boyfriend and I broke up, I distanced myself from the community and eventually got involved with new age groups. I moved further from God as I became more successful in showbiz.

When I was 28 years old, I married an agnostic Italian, travelled the world and lived the life most women could only dream of: I had a lovely house with a view of the Clear Water Bay, a nice car, expensive shoes and bags. I was also on my way to starting a trading business. However, on the second year of my marriage, I fell into depression and suffered from a lack of communication and emotional intimacy with my husband. Eventually, our marriage ended. But things did not change. I fell into depression once again and entertained suicidal thoughts. I wanted to get back on my feet and be successful in my showbiz career but nothing I did worked. To make matters worse, my real estate investments, in which I spent my life savings on, turned out to be scams. I was left with neither financial nor career security.  During this time, someone shared the Gospel with me and we prayed to receive Jesus in my heart as my Lord and Savior. Back then, I had no idea that my decision would change my life forever.

Q: What was your turning point?

Miriam: A few months later, I found myself in a showbiz controversy due to a bad decision I made in my career. This left me terribly disturbed. I was deeply confused, severely heartbroken and financially insecure. As I reflected on what was going on in my life, I finally decided to go back to the basics, back to Jesus Christ. Then and there, I prayed to know Jesus more. Soon after I ended my prayer, a friend of mine invited me to a Bible study via chat on Facebook and I readily agreed.

I appreciated how my friends from the Bible study group prayed for me. The more I got into God’s word, the more I saw how rotten my heart was and how gracious God is for sending Jesus Christ for my sins. From then on, I knew that was it. I let go of all my other gods and focused on Jesus Christ.

Q: How has knowing Christ changed you?

miriamMiriam: It wasn’t overnight but gradually, my broken heart was completely healed, my mind was renewed and I came to know my identity in Christ. God also reminded me to honor, obey and respect my parents. He humbled me to eventually restore my relationship with them. When I did not have as much jobs on TV, God gave me the opportunity to take up real estate seminars and my partners and I created a company to recover our investment in 2009. As of this date, we have fully recovered our investment and our 24-unit apartment compound in Imus, Cavite is self-liquidating. My real estate investments sustain me and now I am into the build and sell business of houses. God honored my desire to still have exposure in showbiz and I still get offers to guest on TV and get roles in movies. Now, I also serve by hosting occasionally at the 700 Club. I now know what it is like to be complete in Christ and I continue to hold on to His promises that I will have my own family one day. In the meantime, I continue to serve God through various ministries. God is great and forever I will praise His name for healing me and completely restoring my life. All glory to Him!

 

 

The Risen Lord changed history and He can also change your story. Join the life revised conversations on Facebook: omfliterature and Twitter: @omflit this Lent.

Has the Lord transformed your life? Share your life revised story with us at digital@omflit.com

Leave a Reply

